Browse by Categories
  Towns / Villages
  Arts / Crafts
  Business Directory
  Leisure Activities
  Photo Gallery
  What’s on
Milltown GAA club Milltown County Galway
Home Advertise Contact Us

Accommodation  ~ Hotels  ~ B&B  ~ Self Catering  ~ Hostels  ~ Restaurants 
Property  ~  Business Listings  ~  Attractions  ~  Activities  ~  Maps

Milltown GAA   ~   Milltown
Milltown GAA Club is one of the longest established sides in Galway and is the holder of two senior county titles in 1971 and 1981. Its home ground is Fr Conroy Park.
GAA Milltown County Galway The Milltown GAA Club Logo

The Corn Mill for which Milltown takes its name was situated on the banks of the River Clare The ruins of the mill are still visible today.

The Telescope represents the astronomer John Birmingham. He grew up in a two-storey house on the 250-acre Millbrook estate in Milltown. He became known as a kindly landlord but also as a scholar and intellectual.

The Musical Note
This represents a local family famous for their music and dancing, the Conlons. JJ Conlon spent the summer months as a travelling musician in Sligo and Mayo, where he reportedly earned more than any of the emigrants working in England.
The Quill
This represents the playwright MJ Molloy who was born in Milltown in 1917.
He did his Leaving Certificate in St Jarlath’s College and then spent three years training to do missionary, but his plans to enter the priesthood were dashed at the age of 20 when he was struck down by tuberculosis.

Of all the Milltown players chosen to represent the county at senior level, pride of place must be given to Noel Tierney. Acknowledged as one of the greatest full backs in the game, he was the anchor man in defence in Galway's famed three-in-a-row team of 1964-65-66. His brother, the lion hearted Fr Peter Tierney, would surely have won equal fame and glory if his playing days had not been so restricted by clerical rules. GAA Clubhouse Milltown County Galway

1971 Milltown GAA Team Milltown County Galway
               1971 County Champions

1981 Milltown GAA Team Milltown County Galway
               1981 County Champions

Other parish footballers to play at senior county level were Gay McManus (captain of Galway in 1982), Sean Brennan, Tommy Brennan, Tony Ryan, Sean Concannon, Miko Feerick, Joe Waldron, Padraig Coyne and Tomas Tierney (captain of Galway in 1986).
In more recent years, Diarmuid Blake, John Devane and Darren Mullahy have represented the club at county level. Diarmuid Blake, John Devane, Darren Mullahy and Matthew Flannery won Under 21 All Ireland medals with Galway in 2005


Towns & Localities in County Galway

 Aran Islands | Athenry | Ballinasloe | Ballygar | Barna | Carna | Carraroe | Claregalway | Clarinbridge | Clifden | Clonbur | Corofin
Connemara | Corrandulla | Dunmore | Galway City | Glenamaddy | Gort | Headford | Kinvara | Leenane | Loughrea | Milltown | Monivea
 Mountbellew | Moycullen | Oranmore | Oughterard | Portumna | Renvyle | Salthill | Spiddal | Tuam | Turloughmore | Williamstown

home | towns | accommodation | B&B | hotels | self catering | arts | attractions | business | education | wap
employment | entertainment | festivals | genealogy | heritage | industry | leisure | links | maps | news | gallery
 political | property | restaurants | shopping | sporting | tourism | travel | weather | what's on | advertise | contact

Website designed by Western-Webs, Tuam County Galway Ireland 

©2007 County Galway Guide, all rights reserved